In Search of Wholeness

 Autumn in New York
Creative Commons License Photo Credit: blmiers2 via Compfight

Somehow September has slipped halfway into the past and the sun, no longer high in the sky when I return home from school, slices low through the spreading branches of the oaks. Across the valley the trees have taken on that tired-leaf look of early fall. Senescence, at least in the world of trees, can be beautiful.

Which makes me think of how I spend my time.

Among other things, I sketched out plans this weekend for another week punctured by tests.

And as I plan, I think about how I’ve used my “Reading” time so far this year. We’ve spent a lot of time doing shared and independent reading. Very little group work so far. Weather related early outs, tests, and other sundry disruptions have derailed our schedules. However, I’ve listened to kids read, talked to kids about books, and connected kids with books and with each other around the topic of books. We’re reading a graphic novel, Rust, together on the document camera.

The discussions have been ferocious and fun.

I chose Rust because it was a nearly wordless graphic novel, new to me, and I wanted the kids to immerse themselves in thinking about something kind of complicated yet without a lot of words, to see what they could do. I wanted them to think out loud to me.

Rust starts with a prologue that dumps the reader into the past, right in the middle of a war between humans and machines, then moves us to the “present” (although the kids are not at all certain about that present part…), to a farm somewhere in the sepia-colored Great Plains. Roman Taylor, probably the main character, writes to his absent father about the arrival of Jet Jones, a mysterious jet-packed boy (?) who is very mechanically inclined and also chased relentlessly by a two-story robot bent on Jet’s destruction.

Do we trust Roman? Why does he want "the power?"

Do we trust Roman? Why does he want “the power?”

Eventually, Roman saves Jet from the robot, and Jet helps Roman around the farm, which has been faltering because Roman’s dad is somewhere, perhaps another war. Roman’s real passion is building robots, so Jet’s help around the farm is welcome. All seems well with Jet’s arrival, except for the giant robot, disabled and rusting in the field.

But is all well? As Weston, one of the students in our classroom said: “Jet has a secret. And he’s not telling anybody about it.” Nearing the end of book one, we are looking carefully for clues to figure out that secret; we’re wondering whether Jet is as innocent as he looks; we’re wondering where Roman’s father is; and we’re wondering about this war and how it came to the Taylor farm now forty-eight years later.

What secrets are not being talked about? How can the truth make things more complicated?

What secrets are not being talked about? How can the truth make things more complicated?

I’ve toggled back and forth on the screen between reading through the document camera and taking notes about our discussion using a simple Details I notice – Thoughts I have – What I wonder chart ala Vicki Vinton, whose  blog and book, What Readers Really Do have made a big difference in my teaching life. (I’ve altered her What I Know – What I Wonder chart just a bit, probably because of defects in the way I teach, but it makes sense to me!)

But I feel a sense of foreboding, and it’s not just about Jet Jones’ secret, or the sepia world he inhabits.

This will be our first year with a reading series and I got my first, dreaded email this week that we teachers are expected to display “fidelity to the program.” I’ve worried about this in the past. Not that I’m one who habitually lacks “fidelity,” it’s just that programs are not what I feel married to.

I’ve loved the immersion in the graphic novel (some readings-discussions have lasted 30 to as many as 45 minutes), the questions that have come from this depth of immersion — the inferences, the way we’ve identified important parts of the story, and how our understanding of what is important has shifted as we learn more about what is going on. That’s cool. And oh so not “gradual release of responsibility.” More like sudden release. My main role has been to read and make sure I turn the pages very, very slowly. 🙂

The reading program (which is better than some!) teaches one metacognitive skill at a time: questioning, inferring, determining importance, etc. using the “gradual release of responsibility” method. In fact, during our before school training, the instructor warned us that we needed to keep our instruction moving, moving, moving, so our mini-lessons would be short, focused on a clear, single-issue think aloud, so the children could experience that responsibility we were about to release. If this week’s topic was questioning, we had to get them asking questions. We didn’t have time for answers, said she.

So, now that September has slipped halfway into the past and the thirty days allotted to set up our classroom routines (and relative freedom from the skill lessons) is nearing the end, I wonder how I’m going to spend my time next month AFTER the leaves have turned golden then dropped from the trees.

After reading Rust with the kids, where many are already inferring, questioning, determining importance even in this first month of school and at a pretty high level, and the kids are lined up to read the second book in the series, I wonder whether I can be faithful to the practice of teaching a single skill, and completing ALL of my mini-lessons in ten minutes. Some? Sure. All?

And questions without answers?

I hate feeling unfaithful. Really. I do.

4 thoughts on “In Search of Wholeness

  1. Seems like we both had wholeness on our minds last week. I’m reminded of a group of 4th graders I worked with while working on the book. They’d read The Breadwinner and done what they called “big thinking work.” And after that they were supposed to go back to their regular curriculum which involved identifying sequence words during a unit on How To’s. Both the kids & the teacher balked–and fortunately their principal got it. I just hope that in the current climate, the powers that be, in NYC as well as in Iowa, are able to truly hear what kids can do when they’re given the time to actually think and make meaning for themselves. Be strong!

    • Luckily, I have a principal who understands the big picture. But we’re also struggling with how to make systemic change, change that isn’t just about what happens behind the closed door of a single classroom.

      What I worry about, though, is that this “shared goals” language translates into the language of “fidelity to a program” rather than fidelity to something deeper and more meaningful because the tough conversations haven’t happened and the shared goals of the program are the only things that are left. As a result, I really feel conflicted. I want to be a force for good, to be someone who doesn’t ‘close the door’ and just do my own thing, but also someone who doesn’t give up on the kids just to fit in, either.

      Mostly, though, thank you so much for your encouragement. I told Jan this when I talked with her on the phone last weekend: you and her and Mary Lee and Kim (and others in a growing online community) have meant so much to me. Strange, that. But really nice!

  2. I’ve given myself permission this morning to catch up on reading a very few blogs and yours was the first I was anxious to visit.

    This post gives me a sick feeling in my stomach. Having to implement a reading program is one of my greatest nightmares. Sending you lots of “stay true to your beliefs” thoughts as you navigate this terrain.

    I’m everso honored to be a member of your online community! I look forward to the day when we meet in person! (NCTE?)

  3. Thanks so much for checking in, Mary Lee. Yours is one of the ones that I check in on regularly, too. It’s always a treat to see what you and Franki are up to. For instance, I’m amazed at the way you jumped into the BYOD project. I’ve been thinking about that, hemming, hawing, thinking of how our tech is not able to stand the extra strain, and how I’m not ready (or able??) to manage the new devices effectively without more thought.

    Still, I’m heading your way. You are such an adventurous soul!

    And NCTE? I’d love to meet you…and I’ve never been to an NCTE conference. I’ll have to look into it. It might just be what my soul needs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *