From Clay, back to Clay

This weekend I had a chance to go back in time, to reacquaint myself with my past life as a potter and also with some old, old friends. To return to clay. Elemental. Clay work was a passion I had for more than a decade. A serious passion. But work and other life events caused me to gradually leave. I don’t remember a day I decided not to make pots anymore; but one day I looked back and saw that I hadn’t made any.

Can it be that’s the way some important things leave a life, not with a bang, but a whimper?

Clay people, especially wood-fire clay people, are a special breed. Maybe it’s the fact that no wood-fired potter can make stuff by himself. Scrounging fire-brick, building kilns, gathering wood, loading and firing the kiln, the unloading and clean-up often require a community of support. There’s no way for a wood-fired potter to be an island. There’s a sense of community, and a shared sense of all for one, one for all. Maybe, also, it’s the connectedness to the Earth: fire, water, air, earth. Clay people have always welcomed me.

So, when my friend, Ken (who is a brother from a different mother), asked that I attend a clay workshop taught by him and a couple of his old friends, I decided to do it even though my hands haven’t been covered in clay for over three years.

It was great to spend time with Ken out near the fire, which was contained by a monster anagama dragon kiln. If you’ve never been near a big dragon kiln and have a chance, take it. The old Japanese potters talk about the kiln as alive. Late at night, the fire gleams through the portals and the kiln slowly inhales and exhales thick smoke. It’s easy to feel as if you have entered a sacred place where the inanimate animates. And there’s a brotherhood in that.

IMG_0187

Ken (L) and me (R)

Ken was right, it was wonderful to meet his friend, Joy Brown. Her spirit was quiet and full.

IMG_0179

Joy demonstrated a paddle form technique.

And there were other potters, too. We who like to get our hands dirty spent the weekend together talking, laughing, bs’ing, and quietly pushing clay around.

IMG_0191

Over 400 lbs of clay and many hands.

As we fed the fire last night, standing quietly under a nearly full moon, Ken said something that stuck with me: Isn’t it strange, he said, that potters spend so much time trying to reverse the processes of the Earth. That’s all we’re doing, the same thing the Earth does constantly. Time and water and wind break rocks down into clay. Potters melt clay to make rocks. It’s a cycle. Which lead to this haiku that I carved into the mural:

hands and flame change mountains worn small by water-- the Earth's heart, reborn

hands and flame change
mountains worn small by water–
the Earth’s heart, reborn

6 thoughts on “From Clay, back to Clay

  1. I can feel the groundedness of this clay work through your words, the connections to the earth and sky and fire, and to friends and community as well. I love that this return to the clay also evoked yet another poem, beautiful Haiku etched in clay. I hope for the opportunity to push my hands into clay like this one day…and to experience the wood-fire clay kiln rather than the electric one I am more familiar with. Thanks for your words…

    • Thanks so much for reading this, Kim! It was a great chance to go back to revisit a past life and connect up with old friends. What does this have to do with teaching? I’m not sure I can answer that super well except to say that last weekend I substituted working at school for the better part of day for being elbow deep in clay. The result? I ended up feeling more rested and centered than I’ve felt for some time. I guess there’s a lesson in there somewhere… 🙂

    • Yes, they do, Mary Lee. I seem to have had my share of lives, in a joyful way, for the most part. Yet, sometimes I feel like things are unraveling. This felt more like braiding. 🙂

    • Amy,
      Thank you so much for stopping by to read this post! It was a wonderful time, a time of reconnection and…something more that I’m still trying to figure out. Maybe that something else has to do with what we bring to our teaching, an outlook, perhaps? A stance? Something that is more connected to the heart than simply to a list of standards, as important as those are? Which is what Mary Lee was saying, I suspect, and now I’m just getting it. (She is always so wise!) At any rate, thanks so much for stopping by. I’m a big fan of what you do over at The Poem Farm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *