Poem: 12 March

I’ve been writing a poem a day using Ted Kooser’s Winter Morning Walks as a mentor. This is connected to an experiment to use my daily life as a source for regular writing. Here’s an image, in poetry form, from this morning.

I’m not sure yet how I’ll use this practice for my teaching, but, I suppose, to the extent that the teacher’s soul is important to the teaching, maybe I’m already using it.

12 March
6:50 AM. Clearing skies. North wind.

Corn stubble soldiers
guard the hilltop from
the retreating snow. Rows
march downward growing
taller, bolder with each victory.
The high ground, reclaimed overnight,
shows dark, while in the valleys,
still deep with blizzard drifts,
winter gathers, holds firm.

–Steve Peterson

4 thoughts on “Poem: 12 March

    • Thank you so much, Mary Lee. If only you knew how much I appreciate your poetry (and Choice Literacy posts and book reviews and windows inside your classroom and…) I sense a very busy life for you right now. I hope you find rest and goodness. Best to you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *