Deeper Learning: The importance of the learner

ThinkingVisibleI’ve been thinking about whether our school district should buy a reading basal series. Last week I posted three questions about whether such a program would bring us to the Promised Land. I believe the short answer is no. The longer answer has brought me to explore a report on deep learning by the National Research Council (NRC) and the National Academies of Sciences (NAS), and a very good book about thinking, Making Meaning Visible. And that exploration has caused me to think more about how people learn.

So, on to the second question.

Will a basal series help students develop the habits of good learners?
I’ll start the answer with something that seems obvious: if learning is to happen, the attitude or outlook or intention of the learner is very important. You know it is important from your own learning. I do, too. Drive and desire helped me become a potter a long time ago. (Life events brought me away from pottery recently, but I gotta get back into it!) Deep immersion into US history with a cohort of nerds 🙂 helped me really learn history while I was a graduate student. Both of these examples of deep learning could only have happened because, as a learner, I had a very strong inner desire to not just acquire knowledge, but to master it, and I found a community of like minded people who supported those interests. There are more examples of deep learning to cite. You probably have them, too. The point is this: Learners matter. A lot.

Second, like anything else, what we do, if done often enough, can “grow on you”; it can become habit forming. What values are we creating inside ourselves as we learn? Do we learn how to connect our interests? To persevere through hardship? To solve problems as they arise? To see the value in our work with others? Through our learning, what kind of person are we making ourselves?

As teachers, what kind of habits are we helping our learners form?

Which brings me to the reading basal series dilemma. I think packaged programs, in an effort to “teach the skills” leave out of their package the one really important piece: the learner. I’ve tried to teach with a reading basal program before. The kids were busy. Incredibly busy. I’d have them reading books I’d chosen, learning about grammar and punctuation, writing, reading some more, and learning how to spell “age-appropriate” words. They were so busy doing what I asked them to do (or not!) that they didn’t have time to think. They didn’t have time to choose, to struggle, to fail, to try again, to create, to reflect, to succeed. They do have time to react to someone else’s agenda and to complete the duties as they are assigned. Just barely. But is this enough to develop the habits of a good learner?

No.

When I taught the reading basal, I never felt like the kids were really engaged, like really engaged from deep inside. For the most successful students, the learning seemed wide and shallow. For less successful students, the learning didn’t really happen.

Even worse, I came to realize that I was training my students to be CONSUMERS of education, not creators of their own minds. Too often, I believe, education casts students in that consumer role, a role whose agency comes from choosing whether to “buy” what is happening in class or not. We train students into this passive role, and they exercise it by tuning in or out as suits their fancy. They get enough practice as consumers. They don’t need more.

The authors of Making Thinking Visible and the authors of the NRC – NAS report argue that deep learning happens when a student is deeply engaged, when the intentions of the learner draw him into the learning situation. Not when they are engaged in shallow coverage of loads of material. We need to try to carve out times during the day for exploration and projects, to help students develop interests and see themselves as interested, capable people. And school as a place to develop good habits of learning.

If we choose a reading basal series, I think we’ll miss an opportunity. In the long run, we might even do more harm than we imagine.

Next. Will a basal series help teachers develop the skills we need to teach deep learning?

7 thoughts on “Deeper Learning: The importance of the learner

  1. Hi Steve! Went to our district meeting about our new basal. Pearson. Oh they proclaim to be research based and based on common core and teacher tested etc. And there is flexibility and the teacher can choose which pieces and everyone wants to see the practice books and the spelling lists. A part of me just died. Guess the price was to good to pass up :(. I am just at a loss for words. And we are expected to use it. I guess i will just have to find the “best” parts.

  2. Oh, Sherry. Ouch…in so many ways.

    I don’t know if you noticed, but the thoughts you shared on Vicki’s blog caused me to go back and think through some of the “issues” that I have with reading basal series. As a result, it is pushing me to learn and figure out stuff that I know on some more visceral level, but not on a level that I can communicate with others. I feel better able to communicate now. Thanks for that.

    Another thing. When you wrote about everyone wanting to see the practice books (I mean, really, practice books??) and spelling lists and the way that makes your heart sink…I know that feeling. I’ve also noticed how some teachers’ eyes light up when they see all the materials so neatly and colorfully packaged, the curriculum so “well-planned” down to the minute, and the books organized by each pre-chosen “topic”, while, at the same time, my heart turns to lead and heads for my feet. My reaction amidst so many ooo’s and ahhhh’s makes me feel like an entirely different species. How to live in such a world? I’m not sure, but I guess I wanted you to know that I think I understand your feeling. Does misery really love company? Probably it shouldn’t (he says guiltily), but it helps me anyway.

    How will you live with this decision? How will you help kids find joy in learning? I wonder this, too, because I suspect our district is a few months away from probably the same outcome as yours. I’m sure that you will find a way to do the best you can for the kids you teach. I hope I will, too.

    At any rate, if you are interested, please be in touch as you continue your journey.

    • Well it is nice to hear I’m not the only one who doesn’t get all excited. For a while this afternoon I was feeling out of place. I couldn’t even have a discussion with the other fourth grade teachers. I just silently looked through the materials wondering what am I going to do and exactly which pieces will I “have” to do. Thanks for your response.

    • Paul,
      Thank you so much for stopping by and for the link to your earlier conversation. I am very happy, indeed, to have stumbled upon the COOP Catalyst and the good folks (like yourself) who inhabit that land.

      I am tempted to say that you are lucky to not be facing the basal series decision, but I know that luck has nothing to do with it. Rather, at least part of your story must have encompassed hard work, vision, and a passion for learning. The school you’ve set up sounds wonderful.

      I am eager to read the piece you wrote for Encounter. Is this out?

      And about the conversation on the linked post. A couple of things strike me, initially. First is a process kind of thing. I really like the way you take folks seriously, and maintain a learning orientation. It comes through in your writing. Second, I like the deep dive into the word, fathom. This idea of embracing learning makes sense to me as a way to understand depth. I think being able to do this has to do with time, or more precisely, patience, as you mention in the comments. It has to do with curiosity, a habit of “letting your heart be touched by wonder and beauty”, which is one of the habits we (as in the learners in our classroom) are trying to build in ourselves.

      Thanks for getting me to think. That’s always such a welcome activity!

      Best regards,
      steve

  3. Pingback: Trying to be a “Force for Good”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *