Poetry Friday: The Measure of a Life

In honor of the nicks and blessings of the old year and with hope for building something beautiful in the new one, here’s a poem about the way small things just do add up.

Poetry_FridayThe Measure of a Life

After the funeral,
from the detritus of
grandfather’s shop
drifted to my toolbox
a brass-hinged ruler.

Verner’s hands
wore it down to brown
long before the metal
tape I knew
lost its numbers.

At fifteen-inches,
several scratches,
rubbed black,
whisper the
unremembered past.
An image flickers:

Dark haired.
Crooked smile.
Arm taut. Guide finger
set. Intent.

Then fades.
Each focused moment
leaves its mark.
Layered years
unfold
the measure of a life.

© Steve Peterson

For more Poetry Friday poems, please hang out for a spell at Carol’s Corner.

6 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: The Measure of a Life

  1. Nancie Atwell has a quote in one of her books about the importance of “things” in writing with specificity. I thought of that quote as I read about your grandfather’s brass hinged ruler. I love the “measure of life” ending.

    • Thanks, Carol. Ted Kooser says some of the same stuff in his book, THE POETRY HOME REPAIR MANUAL. I know that I’m really drawn to poems that start with something concrete at the core.

      Thanks for hosting Poetry Friday!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *